Minutes

K. Lindström, Secretary

E. Martínez-Romero, Chairperson

International Committee on Systematics of Prokaryotes

Subcommittee on the taxonomy of *Agrobacterium* and *Rhizobium*

Minutes of the meeting, 23-24 July 2006, Århus, Denmark

Minute 1. Call to order. The closed meeting was called to order by the Chairperson, E. Martínez-Romero, at 12:30 on 23 July 2006 during the 7th European Nitrogen Fixation Conference in Århus, Denmark. The meeting was adjourned at 14:00 on 23 July 2006 and reconvened on the same site at 12:30 on 24 July 2006.

Minute 2. Record of attendance. The members present on 23–24 July 2006 were B. Eardly, P. de Lajudie, K. Lindström, E. Martínez-Romero and J. P. W. Young. All subcommittee members had the opportunity to participate in the online discussions.

Minute 3. New taxa described since the last meeting. Azorhizobium doebereinerae Moreira et al. 2006 sp. nov. [Syst Appl Microbiol 29 (2006), 197-206; Validation List no. 110, Int J Syst Evol Microbiol 56 (2006), 1459-1460], a microsymbiont of Sesbania virgata. Bradyrhizobium betae Rivas et al. 2004 sp. nov. [Int J Syst Evol Microbiol 54 (2004), 1271-1275]: this name is validly published, but the description is based on only one strain or one clone. We recommend that larger populations are studied before the description of novel species. Forms tumour-like structures on Beta vulgaris. Bradyrhizobium canariense Vinuesa et al. 2005 sp. nov. [Int J Syst Evol Microbiol 55 (2005), 569–575]: the description of this species is based on large strain collections from different sites and hosts and uses a multilocus sequence analysis approach for species demarcation. Acid-tolerant; nodulates genistoid legumes. Two novel Bradyrhizobium japonicum biovarieties were also described, bv. genistearum and bv. glycinearum, which nodulate genistoid legumes and soybeans, respectively. Mesorhizobium septentrionale Gao et al. 2004 sp. nov. and Mesorhizobium temperatum Gao et al. 2004 sp. nov., microsymbionts of Astragalus adsurgens [Int J Syst Evol Microbiol 54 (2004), 2003-2012]. Mesorhizobium thiogangeticum Ghosh and Roy 2006 sp. nov. [Int J Syst Evol Microbiol 56 (2006), 91-97], a chemolithotrophic rhizosphere bacterium.

Minute 4. The phylogeny and naming of *Sinorhizo-bium* **versus** *Ensifer.* The subcommittee noted the proposal by Willems *et al.* [*Int J Syst Evol Microbiol* **53** (2003), 1207–1217] to amalgamate the genera *Sinorhizobium* and

The meeting was continued online and closed on 14 February 2007.

Ensifer. The name Ensifer was published in 1982, before the name Sinorhizobium, which was not published until 1988. The rules of precedence determine that Ensifer has priority over Sinorhizobium, so a combined genus would be called Ensifer. However, phylogenies based on several core genes suggest that Ensifer adhaerens and Sinorhizobium morelense form a sister clade to the rest of the Sinorhizobium species [Martens et al., Int J Syst Evol Microbiol 57 (2007), 489–503]. If confirmed, this could be a basis for retaining Sinorhizobium and Ensifer as distinct genera.

Minute 5. New members. It was proposed online that the subcommittee should ask Professor Wei Gehong at Yangling Agricultural and Forestry University, Shaanxi, to become a member. He is Professor W. X. Chen's former student and has published several species descriptions, he works on *Rhizobium* taxonomy and has a large culture collection in China, a major source of new diversity and taxa. This proposal was accepted unanimously.

Minute 6. The home page. The new subcommittee website was made public in January 2007 and can be accessed at http://edzna.ccg.unam.mx/rhizobial-taxonomy.

Minute 7. Guidelines for description of new taxa. We propose to publish an opinion paper instead of new minimal standards. The subcommittee recognizes that DNA–DNA hybridization has major limitations for species delineation and will put forward the case for its replacement by sequence-based evidence.

Minute 8. Interaction with other subcommittees. Since legume-nodulating bacterial species belonging to the *Betaproteobacteria* have been described, the subcommittee will increase its interactions with the respective subcommittees in order to streamline guidelines and terminology.

Minute 9. Current membership. The current members of the subcommittee are E. Martínez-Romero (Mexico) (Chairperson), K. Lindström (Finland) (Secretary), P. van Berkum (USA), B. Eardly (USA), W. X. Chen (China), P. H. Graham (USA), B. D. W. Jarvis (New Zealand), G. Laguerre (France), P. de Lajudie (France), X. Nesme (France), P. Vinuesa (Mexico), A. Willems (Belgium) and J. P. W. Young (UK).

Minute 10. Next meeting. The next meeting will be held in 2008 during the 8th European Nitrogen Fixation Conference in Gent, Belgium.

Minute 11. Adjournment. The closed meeting was adjourned at 14:00 on 24 July 2006. The meeting was continued online and online discussion was adjourned on 14 February 2007.